New Adventures of Sherlock Holmes

The New Adventures of Sherlock Holmes was an old-time radio show which aired in the USA from October 2, 1939 to July 7, 1947. The show first aired on the Blue Network but later moved to the Mutual Broadcasting System. The radio stories were action packed, filled with atmosphere, and featured great music by Lou Kosloff, as well as excellent sound effects. Originally, the show starred Basil Rathbone as Sherlock Holmes and Nigel Bruce as Dr. Watson. Together, they starred in 220 episodes which aired weekly on Mondays from 8:30 to 9:00pm. Commercialism seeped into the radio show from the start, as Watson himself, played by various actors, took on the co-host role with a spokesman for G. Washington Tea as a visitor ready to hear a Holmes story. Before a blazing fire with tea always at the brew, Watson reminiscences the great tales between comments on how good the tea is! Bromo Quinine sponsored some of the earlier programs on the NBC Blue Network and for a period Parker Pen was the sponsor.

The Affair of the Politician, the Lighthouse, and the Trained Cormorant [1947]

The Dog Who Changed His Mind [1947]

The Missing Heiress

A Case Of Identity

Black Peter

Lady Waverly's Imitation Pearls

Shoscombe Old Place

The Ancient Queen

The Bleeding Chandelier

The Bruce-Partington Plans

The Discordant Bells

The Empty House

The Fabulous Celebrities

The Fabulous Windmill

The Frightened Bookkeeper

The Guy Fawkes Society

The Island Of The Dead

The Logic Of Murder

The London Tower

The Speckled Band

The Uddington Witch

The Unwelcome Ambassador

The Veiled Lodger

The Well Advertised Murder

Dr. Winthrop's Notorious Carriage

Murder On A Wager

The Blood-Soaked Wagon

The Bloodstained Goddess

The Bloomsbury Ballad

The Burmese Goddess

The Curious Crypt

The Devil's Foot

The East End Strangler

The Elusive Agent 1

The Elusive Agent 2

The Elusive Agent 3

The Golden Pince-Nez

The Gray Pasha

The Guest In The Coffin

The Hangman And The Book

The Knife Of Vengence

The Mad Miners Of Cardiff

The Malicious Moor

The Red Death

The Three Garridebs

The Unfortunate Valet